Guest logged in.
Welcome to WRHS Class of 1966 Online Users: 7
Navigation » WRHS Class of 1966 » Your Stories » Bio -- Melissa Miller Lamprich »
Current Replies for Bio -- Melissa Miller Lamprich

Bio -- Melissa Miller Lamprich (admin)
Posted: 8:17:38 am on 9/12/2011 Modified: Never

For 24 years my husband and I have lived in Grapevine, Texas, where I’ve been a high school teacher for 17 years. For the last six, I’ve been fortunate to teach a fascinating course called Human Geography. It’s AP, and geared in our district for ninth graders. I’m the wicked one who gives the rising eighth graders their first B ever, after they fail their first test ever. Amazingly enough they seldom drop the class, they do great on the AP test, and they end up loving me to some extent. This year I’m eligible to retire, but don’t know yet if I will. (If I do, I’ll love spending more time with two sweet little granddaughters.)<BR><BR>Like many of you, I went to OSU. I think my claim to fame there was that I got elected to the Student Senate using the slogan, “Keep OSU from going to pot!” I met my husband on a blind date to the fraternity/sorority “Ribbon Dance” my senior year; he was a first-year MBA student and in ROTC. We married the next August. I worked at the OSU housing office while he finished his degree. He just missed going to Vietnam and we moved to Tulsa.<BR><BR>My dream to become a teacher became reality at Carver Middle School, one of Tulsa’s magnet programs. Years later, that experience listed on my resume helped me get hired here in Grapevine. Our first son, who is now 34, came along; we moved to Edmond and welcomed our second son, who is now 31. We lived on two acres and the boys attended a small dependent school named Oakdale—150 students , K-8. We moved to Texas where the boys’ new elementary had more than 1000 students. Grapevine, however, has a genuine small-town atmosphere, even if it’s right next to DFW Airport. I was lucky to be able to be a stay-at-home mom, and t