Guest logged in.
Welcome to WRHS Class of 1966 Online Users: 5
Navigation WRHS Class of 1966 Your Stories Joe Johnston
Current Replies for Joe Johnston

Joe Johnston (JanW)
Posted: 11:32:46 am on 9/13/2011 Modified: Never

I got out of OSU with a bachelor's in advertising and masters in mass comm. My first job was as a writer for the in-house ad agency for Donrey Media Group (now extinct). Became director of that little 3-person agency. Went to Cleveland with Grishwold-Eshleman Advertising (now extinct), where I worked on General Motors, B.F. Goodrich Tires, etc. We invented McDonald's Happy Meal, which is a fairly interesting story. Had several good years at Tracy-Locke Advertising (now extinct) in Dallas working on Haggar Slacks, Korbel Wines, etc. After a brief stint with The Richards Group I started Johnston Advertising & Public Relations (now extinct). Sold that, worked for another local agency (now extinct). During those advertising years I was a writer, art director, creative director and account supervisor. Over the years I wrote everything from TV and radio to mail coupons, and speeches to tech manuals for conveyor belts. I won a lot of awards.<BR><BR> Since '87 I've been self-employed, taking various staff jobs along the way.<BR><BR> I came to Nashville for the music and wrote songs in country and gospel. I was a staff writer for Curb Records. My songs have been on hit albums, in movies, and on tv. I produced records, developed artists, and worked with Vince Gill, Alabama, Restless Heart, LeAnn Rimes, Glen Campbell, and others. I still manage a music publishing company, but the music business has changed drastically, and is no longer my career. Just can't make substantial money at it any more. <BR><BR> I've always made art, including paintings, cartoons, and such. For the past 10 yrs I've been the storyboard artist for a film production company. It's sometimes fun, and thanks to the march of technology, I can do it at home in my pajamas. My current art "th