Guest logged in.
Welcome to WRHS Class of 1966 Online Users: 5
Navigation WRHS Class of 1966 Your Stories Laurel Kelsey Wells
Current Replies for Laurel Kelsey Wells

Laurel Kelsey Wells (JanW)
Posted: 8:47:35 pm on 10/9/2011 Modified: Never

I agree with Tom McDonald...you really expect me to remember all that! Let's see... I graduated from Northeastern in 1970 and somehow landed in McAlester, OK teaching second grade. That was my first experience with children of poverty. My then husband changed jobs and we moved back to Tulsa. There I taught 6th and 7th grade science for two years in Catoosa. We were building houses, and that was taking lots of bookkeeping, decorating, and such. So, that became my focus. During that time, we had two beautiful little girls, Katy and Kelsey.<BR> <BR>Well, that was the beginning of several "lives". I divorced, returned to education, and raised my girls. Broken Arrow Public Schools is where I taught fifth grade, helped write and implement the gifted program (my oldest grandson is in that program now.), was a counselor for several years, an intern principal for a couple of years, and an assistant principal for another couple of years. I became a principal in Tulsa in 1992. <BR> <BR>While teaching I earned two masters degrees, one in counseling, the other in curriculum and instruction. In addition, I taught psychology classes for Tulsa Junior College (now TCC) and University Center at Tulsa (I'm not sure how that works now). I was fascinated with Laura's daughter talking about having a "calling" and Dorothy writing about knowing she wanted to teach all her life. When I interviewed teacher candidates, I always asked them why they wanted to teach. I wanted to hear that they had always wanted teach, it was a calling, or they wanted to make a difference in a child's life. It was my belief that if you were relatively bright, I could probably teach you curriculum and classroom management. However, I could not teach you to have a heart for ch